Strike #2

So I got a call on Tuesday from a gentleman I previously had spoken to at The Guardian, asking me about the strike.

‘Are you striking?’

‘No, well, I’m not working at the moment, so I can’t really strike, plus I have an exam to study for, and a member of family in hospital…’

‘Do you think you could write something about the strike?’ (he was much more understanding, and much less abrupt than this, I’m summarising)

‘Well, I don’t know, I’ve got a lot on, and I’m not really sure what I could say – I mean I could try and think of an outline’

And, despite feeling like nothing would come of it, I sat at the computer. What could I add to the debate that people weren’t aware of? I was so tired! I had stuff to do. I hadn’t written much since Dad passed away, I was just trying to get things together.

And then I started writing:

“There is an ideal of a doctors. They work long gruelling hours, nobly accept thanks when another life is saved, and sacrifice their own lives for the sake of others. Except that it isn’t true. The problem is that we’re human. We get hungry, sick, and tired.”

And it seemed I couldn’t stop

So here is the article, and the one thing I wanted to add to the debate – we are real people, with real lives and families, and – until we get replaced by robots, or get given that drug from Limitless – we should be treated as such.

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2016/jan/12/junior-doctors-strike-contract-nhs

Leave a Reply

